TV Advertising: Where it is, where it should go

Why Advertising?

Next year I plan on majoring in advertising, but that didn’t start off as an easy decision. I went back and forth between advertising and media production for a while because not only do I love the creative writing aspect in the back end of ad, but I love the end product of a well-shot commercial.

Ultimately what helped me decide was the knowledge that advertising is always changing and the possibility of it adapting enough that I’d be able to do both.

What I’ve Heard

I’ve heard many people say ads are getting more annoying—more interruptive. We see ads constantly in sidebars on Facebook and sponsored messages popping up on Intagram. They play on YouTube before you can watch a video, and they interrupt TV shows and music on the radio…that is, for anyone still choosing TV over Netflix and radio over Spotify.

But there is one time of year we like ads and actually look forward to watching them—the Super Bowl. Why?

What I Think

Because they’re well done! They’re videos, so they don’t make us read or think deeply about anything, and above all, they are entertaining. Eventually, I think all commercial ads will move away from the informative approach that many 30 second spots take, and attempt to sell ideas or products through pure entertainment

Take the Wrigley’s Extra gum commercial called “The Story of Sarah and Juan” for example. It makes me tear up every time I watch it because it has an emotional plot that takes its viewers up and down along with its storyline.  I can easily say I think of Extra every time I buy gum now…mission accomplished Wrigley’s.

You can watch it here. Be prepared to cry:

Now this commercial is about 1.5 minutes longer than normal, BUT if all commercials were 2-3 minute mini movies like this, and each of those mini movies connected people to and made them care about a product, then A) commercials wouldn’t have to appear as often to stick in people’s minds, and B) people would be more likely to buy the products being advertised.

That’s all. It’s a simple thought, but I think this could help minimize the bad feeling everyone has when they hear the words, “…after the break.”

 

Leave a Reply

